Hope from Deuteronomy

I did a 4 month study on Deuteronomy several years ago. I learned so much. I enjoy this book tucked away in the history of the Israelites.

In the midst of this “pandemic” we need hope. I need hope. I know my hope is found is Jesus but I wanted new hope; hope specifically for those close to me with this virus. Oh how I pray for their healing and for protection for those with them.

I re read Deuteronomy 20 this morning. I had lightly highlighted these verses but today they jumped off the page and gave hope to my hurting heart.  Verses 1-4 re minded the children of God how to handle battle in conquering the promised land.  Here are parts of these verse that God shouted into my heart. “do not be afraid of them for the Lord your God….is with you. do not be fainthearted. Do not be afraid, or panic or tremble….the Lord your God is the One Who goes with you to fight for you…to save you.”  Tell me those words do not bring peace and security to your heart.  Oh how they filled my heart this morning.

I say “God’s got this” but do I really believe it? I do! Now I need to act like I do. Every moment of every day; that’s where it is hard.  The moment by moment walk as you get a new message that another person has been infected. Or as you hear “code intubation” as a friend of mine hears it over and over in the ER of a local hospital. That’s the moment by moment when I need to hear these verses. 

The Lord your God is the One Who goes with you fight….to save you.” And He does. 

If you wanna read this in one of the most encouraging and secure bringing passages in the scripture; go to Psalm 139. 

He knows when I “sit down and when I rise up”.

He “understands my thoughts”. I don’t even understand my thoughts some times.

He “scrutinizes my path”. The original is “winnows”. I see Him going before me making the way clear for me.

He knows when I lie down.

He is “intimately acquainted” with me.  I can’t even…no words…

he has “enclosed me behind and before and laid His hand on me”. That is TOTAL protection.

Ok I am going to stop this list and encourage you to finish it. 

There are 24 verses in this Psalm and the security it brings through so many promises is amazing to me. Oh and don’t forget to start in Deuteronomy.

Published in: on April 2, 2020 at 7:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://intimatewalk.wordpress.com/2020/04/02/hope-from-deuteronomy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment